The University of Wisconsin–Madison works to integrate and enhance research and education efforts in sustainability science and practice across all parts of campus. UW–Madison has a long history of scholarship in a broad range of topics relevant to sustainability, from using recycled industrial materials in infrastructure to ensuring the sustainability of rural agricultural communities. Creating solutions for the sustainability challenges of the future will require dynamic teams and a comprehensive approach that addresses sustainability problems such as water, finance, energy, health, food, and community. Addressing these challenges will require an educated workforce that is trained to consider sustainability broadly.

In 2010, a chancellor-appointed Sustainability Task Force recommended that the University of Wisconsin–Madison create a university office that would align academics and research to advance campus sustainability goals. Now, the Office of Sustainability serves as a campus-wide resource for sustainability. By facilitating sustainability education and partnering with campus units to improve operations and resource stewardship, the office represents the realization of a shared vision for a sustainable campus.


The Office of Sustainability aligns research and education on sustainability (our purpose) with campus operations (our practices) in the service of environmental, economic, and social responsibility to people and the planet.


The University of Wisconsin–Madison will be a living model for sustainability, exemplifying values and actions that demonstrate our commitment to stewardship of resources, respect for place, and the health and well-being of the broader community, now and for the future.

Leadership Team

Melissa Nergard

Director of Sustainability


Cathy Middlecamp

Director of Sustainability Education and Research


Ann Terlaak

Sustainability Certificate Faculty Advisor


Jason Gallup

Student Intern Program Director


Ian Aley

Green Fund Program Manager


Alex Frank

Sustainability Analyst


Ally Burg

Program Assistant


Student Employees

Tracy Harvey

Project Assistant

Audrey Stanton

Project Assistant

Student Interns, Fall 2019

Sanauz Alaei

Green Allies, Green Labs, Green Office

Norma Behrend-Martinez

Communications, Green Labs, Green Office

Natalie Brunner

Communications, Green Allies, Green Office

Riley Collins

Green Events, Green Office

Meg DiPoto

Green Events, Green Labs

Hannah Kasun

Communications, Green Events

Ally Magnin

Communications, Green Events

Catie McDonald

Communications, Green Events, Green Athletics

Jackie Millonzi

Green Allies, Green Events

Jackie Olson

Green Allies, Green Greeks, Green Office

Ana Roden

Communications, Green Allies, Green Office

Jeremy Sanford

Green Allies, Green Greeks

Marina Steiner

Green Events, Green Labs

Claire Stowe

Communications, Green Office

Jackson Webster

Green Greeks, Green Office